Help! I don’t want to continue the interview process…

It isn’t often that someone comes to me with this dilemma:

I applied for a [insert job title here] at [insert company name].  I had an interview with the recruiter, and went to the office for 1st round interviews. Now that I know about the position/company, I don’t want to interview anymore. How do I tell them?

There are two ways to go about this.

  1. Be honest.  Tell the recruiter that you are working with that you don’t feel the company, or the position, is a good fit for what you are looking for.  Whatever you do, don’t fall off the face of the planet.  Not only do you risk burning bridges, but you also confirm to the company that you aren’t the right fit for them either.  
  2. Continue the process.  Why?  Because while this might not be the position or company for you, practice makes perfect.  How can you practice without having the opportunity to?

Which option would I choose if I were in these shoes?  I’d choose option #2.  I’m a firm believer that you can’t achieve what you want unless you practice to perfect it.  If a bad interview is standing in between you and your dream job, why not try to perfect your interview skills?

 

One thought on “Help! I don’t want to continue the interview process…

Leave a Reply

